The Janyati and the Elements

elementsThe seven great Janyati, or angels, preside over all aspects of the universe.

One of the arithmetical symbolisms concerning the number seven is its representing the union of the spiritual number 3 and the material number 4.

According to this symbolism, the seven Janyatic Principles govern the elements as follows:

Sai Sushuri: Water
Sai Vikhe: Fire
Sai Thame: Earth
Sai Mati: Air

Aethyr, being the principle from which all four material elements derive, is governed by the three Janyatic Principle which, in this symbolism, represent the Spirit. The two Luminaries, the Sun and Moon, as we have often noted, are types of the Mother and Daughter, while Sai Rhave, the Dark Planet, represents, according to this scheme, the Dark Mother who is unknowable to us and into whom the manifest cosmos will return at the end of time. Thus, from the point of view of material manifestation, She may be associated, like Sai Rhave, in a certain sense with old age and death, while from the spiritual perspective, She represents enlightenment and liberation from the Wheel of Werde.
So, we may continue our schematization with:

Sai Raya }
Sai Candre }  Aethyr
Sai Rhave }

It is important to remember that both aspects of this schema do represent only a particular schematization. It has value for some purposes but it should not be taken to over-literal extremes. It is an error to say that “Sai Vikhë is the Janya of fire” for example (the Janya of fire is actually Sai Annya). To say that water belongs in some senses to Sai Sushuri is correct, but in the Eastern schema, Sai Sushuri’s element is gold, while water belongs to Sai Mati.

It would be even more wrong to say Sai Rhavë is the Dark Mother or Sai Candrë is the Daughter. The Daughter does, from one perspective, represent the Lunar aspect of Dea, but one should beware of an over-formulaic interpretation.

None of this is to dilute the value of what has already been said, but it is important to warn against heavy-handed and over-literalistic and over-systematizing interpretations into which West Tellurians can be prone to fall.

With that proviso, the three/four division of the Janyati is of immense value, especially from the Filianic perspective.


For more about the Janyati, see The Seven Great Angels